Saturday, 23 November 2013


“You affect the world by what you browse.” - Tim Berners-Lee
The change in YouTube policy that allows one to upload longer clips has meant that very quickly, a huge number of larger classical works have been uploaded in their entirety. This is a boon for classical music lovers, allowing one to perform a quick search and be able to enjoy the absolute best of the veritable treasure trove of Western classical music at will.
For Music Saturday today, here is such a gem. Georg Frideric Händel’s “Complete Violin Sonatas”, played by Andrew Manze (violin) and Richard Egarr (harpsichord).
Sonata in D major, Op.1/13, HWV 371 0:00
Sonata in F, Op.1/12, HWV 370 12:12
Sonata in D minor, HWV 359a 26:02
Sonata in A major, Op.1/3, HWV 361 33:42
Sonata in G minor, Op.1/6, HWV 364a 41:40
Sonata in A major ('Roger'), Op.1/10 48:58
Sonata in E major ('Roger'), Op.1/12 57:02
Sonata in G major, HWV 358 1:06:12

The painting above is Orazio Gentileschi’s (1563–1639) “Young Woman Playing a Violin”.

No comments:

Post a comment